Iona’s Cluess Named Finalist For Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Iona’s Cluess Named Finalist For Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award

April 03, 2015 - 15:26
Posted in:
Rate Article: 
Your rating: None
No votes yet

BOSTON, MA - Iona College men's basketball head coach Tim Cluess was named one of 16 finalists for the 2015 Skip Prosser Man of the Year by Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

The recipient of the 2015 award will be announced at the Awards Banquet tomorrow in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 men's division I basketball championship.

The 2014-15 finalists include Dana Altman (Oregon), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Glenn Braica (Saint Francis Brooklyn), Mike Brey (Notre Dame), Tim Cluess (Iona), Keno Davis (Central Michigan), Fran Dunphy (Temple), Jim Engles (NJIT), Steve Fisher (San Diego State), Bill Herrion (New Hampshire), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa), James Jones (Yale), Scott Nagy (South Dakota State), Jeff Neubauer (Eastern Kentucky), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell) and Tony Shaver (William & Mary).

Skip Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest. During his time at Wake, Prosser’s teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Past winners of the honor include Mike Brey (Notre Dame), Ed Conroy (The Citadel), Chris Mack (Xavier), Bob Marlin (Sam Houston State), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Jimmy Patsos (Loyola MD) and Brian Wardle (Green Bay).